About Us

The Frontier Conference was organized in 1935 with four of the eight existing teams as charter members (Montana Tech, Montana Western, MSU-Northern and Rocky Mountain College).

Carroll College joined in 1938. For a 10-year period, from 1974 - 1984, the University of Great Falls competed in the conference and rejoined in 1999.

The conference added Lewis-Clark State College of Lewiston, Idaho and Westminster College of Salt Lake City, Utah in 1998. Eastern Oregon University of La Grande, Ore., joined in 2008 as an associate member for football only. In 2012 the league welcomed Dickinson State University as a full member. Dickinson left after the 2013-14 season to join the North Star Conference. Southern Oregon University joined as an associate member for football only in 2012. College of Idaho joined the conference in the Fall of 2014 as an associate member in football only. Westminster College moved to NCAA Division II status and left the conference after the 2014-15 season.

The purpose of the Frontier Conference is to encourage, promote, sponsor and control athletic competition among participating colleges as an integral part of the total educational process. With their motto, "Promoting Academic & Athletic Excellence," members compete for conference championships in: men's & women's basketball, men's & women's cross-country, football, men's & women's golf, men's & women's indoor/outdoor track & field, women's soccer & volleyball.

Any contest between two Frontier Conference schools will always provide spectators with the excitement and thrills that can be experienced through intercollegiate athletic conference. Many of our games are broadcast through local radio and via school webcasts.